Chile again create deaf chess history  

Patrico Vallejos has become a household name in deaf chess by winning the Men’s  “B” title that contained very strong chess players who were unfortunate in getting exited from the Men’s main competition.  In the final, he took on the vastly experienced Swiss player, Peter Wagner who has been around the deaf chess circles for some 40 years. Patrico is to be congratulated for taking the title to Chile. It is remarkable that he has yet to gain a FIDE ELO rating!

The Belgian newcomer, Francois Colin, is certainly a player to watch for his games are truly entertaining. He deserved his 3rd placing beating Thailand’s sole participant, Tony Nabarro formerly from England. It is interesting to note that Nabarro had not played chess for over 25 years, and his last competition was back in 1988!

Winner:  Patricio Vallejos (Chile)

1st round: F. Guibert (France) 1.5 – 0.5

Semi-Final: Beat F. Colin (Belgium) 1.5 – 0.5

Final:  Beat P. Wagner (Switzerland) 1.5 – 0.5


Runner-Up – Peter Wagner (Switzerland)

Third Place  – Francois Colin (Belgium)